2015 Arbuckle Award Dinner

Thursday, March 5 - Save the Date

[photo - Jeff Skoll, MBA '95]

Arbuckle Award Dinner Honoring
Jeff Skoll, MBA '95

Founding President, eBay
Founder and Chairman Participant Media and the Skoll Foundation



Cocktail Reception - 6:30 pm
Dinner - 7:30 pm

Frances C. Arillaga Alumni Center
McCaw Hall
326 Galvez Street, Stanford University

Online registration will be available in January.

About Jeff Skoll

Jeff Skoll is a philanthropist and social entrepreneur, working to bring life to his vision of a sustainable world of peace and prosperity.

The first full-time employee and President of eBay, Jeff developed the company’s inaugural business plan and helped lead its successful initial public offering and the creation of the eBay Foundation. 

Over the last 15 years, Jeff has created an innovative portfolio of philanthropic and commercial enterprises, each a distinctive social catalyst. Together, these organizations drive social impact by investing in a range of efforts that integrate powerful stories and data with entrepreneurial approaches. 

The Jeff Skoll Group supports his organizations, which include the Skoll Foundation, the Capricorn Investment Group, Participant Media and the Skoll Global Threats Fund.

About the Arbuckle Award

Sponsored annually by the Stanford GSB Alumni Association, the Ernest C. Arbuckle Award recognizes excellence in the field of management leadership. The award was created in 1968 in honor of the late Business School dean whose name it bears. Recipients demonstrate a commitment to both managerial excellence and to addressing the changing needs of society.

Complete List of Arbuckle Award Winners



Jeffrey S. Skoll, MBA '95


Robert E. King, MBA '60, The Stanford Institute for Innovation in Developing Economies (SEED)


John Gunn, MBA '72, Chairman Emeritus, Dodge and Cox

John Gunn Video (4:44 minutes)


Robert L. Joss, Sloan '66, MBA '67, PhD '70, former Dean of the Stanford University GSB

Rober L. Joss Video (39:33 minutes)

2011 Penny Pritzker, JD/MBA '84

Penny Pritzker Video (19:06 minutes)

2010 Richard E. Rainwater, MBA '68

"Richard's Art of the Deal" Video (5:10 minutes)

2009 Michael Shanahan, AB '60, MBA '65

Shanahan Video (11:05 minutes)

2008 Henry Segerstrom, MBA '48

Segerstrom Video (36:07 minutes)

2007 Henry A. McKinnell, Jr., MBA '67, PhD '69

McKinnell Video (43:04 minutes)

2006 Stephen "Steve" Adams, MBA '62

Adams Video (48:28 minutes)

2005 Robert M. Bass, MBA '74
2004 Dr. Andy S. Grove

Dr. Grove Video (42:04 minutes)

2003 Richard Kovacevich, MBA '67

Kovacevich Video (17:31 minutes)

2002 John H. Scully, MBA '68
2001 The Lord Browne of Madingley, MS '81

Lord Browne of Madingley Video(3:57 minutes)

2000 A. Michael Spence


1999 Becky Morgan, MBA '78
1998 Lorenzo Zambrano, MBA '68
1997 Frank Shrontz, MBA '70
1996 John Morgridge, MBA '57
1995 Charles R. Schwab, MBA '61
1994 John B. Mc Coy, MBA '67
1993 John W. Gardner
1992 Philip Knight, MBA '62
1991 David S. Tappan, MBA '48
1990 Robert K. Jaedicke


1989 John Lillie, MBA '64
1988 A. William Reynolds, MBA '57
1987 George Shultz
1986 John G. McCoy, MBA '37
1985 Donald E. Petersen, MBA '49
1984 Claude N. Rosenberg, Jr., MBA '52
1983 H. B. Atwater, Jr., MBA '54
1982 James F. Dickason, Jr., MBA '51
1981 No award given
1980 John Fery, MBA '55


1979 Roy A. Anderson, MBA '49
1978 John Young, MBA '58
1977 No award given
1976 Frederick G. Larkin Jr., MBA '36
1975 Arjay Miller, former Dean of the Stanford University GSB

Arjay Miller Video (10:01 minutes)

1974 Stephen D. Bechtel, MBA '48
1973 Frank T. Cary, MBA '48
1972 Douglas R. Fuller, MBA '30
1971 Malcolm MacNaughton, MBA '33
1970 Edmund W. Littlefield, MBA '38


1968 Ernest C. Arbuckle, MBA '36

related link

Contact us

Contact Sue Kellam in the GSB alumni office at +1-650-725-3254